banner

On this page, I present some cameras that are part of a series of the same basic name in the same manufacturer. (Eg the "Retina" series at Kodak). It is another form of presentation that shows the progressive development of the technicality and aesthetics of the basic model over the years. The series presented, which can still be completed, are my favorites.

The "Retina" by Kodak AG - stuttgart - Germany

The "OM" by Olympus - Japan

The "Super Ikonta" by Zeiss Ikon - Germany

The "Bessa" by Voigtländer - Germany

The "Pen" by Olympus - Japan

The "Rolleiflex" by Franke & Heidecke - Germany

The "Contaflex" by Zeiss Ikon - Stuttgart - Germany

The " F " by Nikon - Tokyo - Japan

The "Retina" series by Kodak AG - Stuttgart - Germany

In 1934, Dr. Nagel, whose company was acquired by Kodak, built the first "Retina" type 117 for Kodak AG in Stuttgart, Germany. To compete with Leica, which has already proved successful, this new device also uses the 35 mm film but already loaded into a cartridge developed by Kodak. The loading and unloading may therefore be done in daylight. The "Retina" was small, handy and equipped with shutters and optics of the German advanced industry in this field. The evolution of this series of cameras stopped with the production of " Retina Reflex IV ".

The "OM" series by Olympus - Japan

The first OM released is the M-1 in 1972 which attracted the wrath of Leitz who saw the "M" of his Leica copied. Olympus was forced to rename his camera and chose "OM-1" ("O" for Olympus and "M" for Masterpiece). The OM-1 of 1973 has everything to satisfy: lightweight, compact, new bayonet for the optics, clear sight, quite silent (pneumatic brake for the mirror), and motorizable, with a small intervention for the OM-1 only. It is a series of beautiful OM 35mm SLR cameras, especially the "black" models, but this is only a personal opinion ... Olympus has also planned a wide range of optics and accessories including adaptations for its microscopes .

 

The "Super Ikonta" series by Zeiss Ikon - Germany

From 1934 Zeiss Ikon perfected the already well-developed series of her foldings "Ikonta" by cameras of the same type but equipped with a coupled rangefinder to facilitate a precise focusing with an additional lens located above on the same plane as the optic. Then begins the Super Ikonta series. They are advanced devices equipped with the latest technical developments: a prestigious pair optical / shutter: Carl zeiss Tessar / Deckel Compur; A Newton viewfinder that will give a straightened image; A bellows made of special undulations for the internal ventilation which prevents the film to came out from its plan and a finish of high technical and aesthetic quality. The roll of film 120 will be used to give all possible horizontal or vertical formats: 4.5 × 6 cm, 6 × 6 cm or 6 × 9 cm. Super Ikonta production will continue from 1934 to 1960.

 

The "Bessa" series by Voigtländer - Germany

From 1929 to 1951 Voigtländer produced a series of folding cameras for roll film 120. All the optics are Voigtländer: Singlo, Voigtar, Skopar, Vaskar or Heliar and shutters Embezet, Pronto or Compur. As the production progresses, the viewfinders will evolve as well as the brightness of the optics and some models have a rangefinder. Some models have a removable filter hinged to the edge of the lens. Later, since 1996, under the name "Voigtlander", Cosina (Japan) continues the construction of cameras with the name "Bessa", as the Bessa L presented in this series.

 

 

The "Pen" series by Olympus - Japan

Cameras that use the 135 film (35 mm film) generally make photographs in the format 24 X 36 mm. This means that the height of the film is used for the 24 mm high, and that the length of the film is divided into portions of 36 mm long or a maximum of 36 views on a complete cartridge 135. The picture taken with the horizontal camera will have a rectangular format in length (type "landscape"). The "Pen" cameras from Olympus are half format: the height remains 24 mm but the length is 18 mm and not 36 mm, which makes it possible to make maximum 72 views per film instead of 36. The picture taken with the camera Horizontal will have a rectangular format in height (type "portrait"). The disadvantage is that the format of the shooting is smaller and therefore the film portion also. As a result, during the enlargement, the grains may appear more rapidly. Olympus was able to make a very nice series of small compact cameras ("Pen" like a pocket pen), very handy, well equipped at the optical level and equipped with high performance automation. At the end of production, there are even half-format reflex cameras, flags of the series, with interchangeable optics and with possibilities of uses in scientific fields, mainly medicine (endoscopy, photomicrography ...).

 

The "Rolleiflex" series by Franke & Heidecke - Germany

Cameras that have had immense success and often imitated, it is the "Rolleiflex", reflex TLR (Twin Lens Reflex) developed in 1929 by the two work companions Franke and Heidecke. The camera has a higher optics for aiming and lower for shooting. The large viewfinder gives on an image (return left/right) corresponding to the format 6 X 6 cm on film 120 or 4 X 4 cm on film 127. The film is unrolled vertically which gives a camera of cubic shape all In height but not bulky for a medium format. The Schneider or Carl Zeiss optics combined with a Deckel shutter made it an efficient, safe and impeccably finished camera. It has made the happiness of professional photographers and demanding amateurs! The "Rolleiflex" of the collection other than the bi-objective reflexes are not inserted in this series.

 

The Contaflex by Zeis Ikon - Stuttgart - Germany

We are in 1953 and it is time for Zeiss Ikon-Stuttgart, after the war 40-45 and the separating east / west camps, for compete the East Germany. Zeiss Ikon-Dresden (Pentacom later) had released in 1949 the Contax S and Ihagee-Dresden in 1950 its Exakta Varex. These cameras are single lens reflex (SLR) and use the 35 mm film. At that time Zeiss Ikon-Stuttgart continues to produce its Contax, a 35 mm rangefinder camera. The engineers who stayed to the west then undertake the production of a new 35 mm reflex camera (SLR): the Contaflex. It will be a series of 16 models produced between 1953 and 1972. There will be 3 families of Contaflex: 1 - Contaflex with fixed lens equipped with Tessar optics ; 2 - Contaflex equipped with Plantar optics; 3 - Contaflex equipped with Pro-Tessar optics.

I do not take into account here the excellent Contaflex (830/24) which is a TLR of 1935.

The professional " F " by Nikon - Tokyo - Japan

Since 1948 Nippon Kogaku (Japan) has produced eight models of rangefinder 35mm cameras, including the legendary "SP" from the factories from 1957 until 1964. Nippon Kogaku then tackles the market of 35mm reflex cameras with Interchangeable lens (SLR - Single Lens Reflex). Based on the SP, Nippon Kogaku will produce the Nikon F, the first of a series of cameras designed specifically for the professional market. The other fans of the brand will not be forgotten by other productions of Nikon reflex cameras less expensive (Nikkormat, FM, F-601 ...).

The Nikon F is produce in 1959, two years after the release of the SP which is still in production. This Nikon F will mark the history of photography and will change the habits of professional photographers. The SLR 35 mm that already existed at other brands will become a reference. That was a succes for Nippon Kogaku ( "Nikon" in 1988) with this first model, and the others will follow as the technical advances applied to these cameras : increasing shutter speed, measurement of light through Lens (TTL), automation of exposure, motorization, autofocus, etc.). A constant point for all 35 mm Nikon SLR cameras is the bayonet F which serves to fix the optics, the base of which will remain immutable always until today. The advantage is therefore the almost total compatibility of all the brand's objectives with the obvious limitations associated with improvements in mechanical and electronic communications between the optics and the case (such as, for example, automatic focusing). The Nikon F series is in fact not very large since there are 6 basic models, from the nikon F to the Nikon F6. But there are several variations of these models which make that the whole is counted to more than 20 apparatuses of different identifications between 1959 and 2004.

 

F3_HP

Nikon F3 HP

Nikon F3AF.jpg

Nikon F3 AF

Nikon F5

Nikon F5

Value cannot be null. Parameter name: source

banner

Dans cette page, je présente certains appareils qui font partie d'une série du même nom de base chez un même constructeur. (exemple : la série des "Retina" chez Kodak). C'est une autre forme de présentation qui montre le développement progressif de la technicité et de l'esthétique du modèle de base au cours des années. Les séries présentées, qui peuvent encore être complétées, sont mes coups de cœur.

Les "Retina" de Kodak AG - stuttgart - Allemagne

Les "OM" de Olympus - Japon

Les "Super Ikonta" de Zeiss Ikon - Allemagne

Les "Bessa" de Voigtländer - Allemagne

Les "Pen" de Olympus - Japon

Les "Rolleiflex" de Franke & Heidecke - Allemagne

Les "Contaflex" de Zeiss Ikon - Allemagne

Les " F " Pros de Nikon - Japon

 

 

La série des "Retina" de Kodak A.G. - Allemagne

En 1934, le Dr Nagel dont l'entreprise avait été rachetée par Kodak, construit le premier Retina (Type 117) pour Kodak AG à Stuttgart en Allemagne. Pour concurrencer le Leica qui a déjà fait ses preuves et son succès, ce nouvel appareil utilise également le film 35 mm mais déjà chargé dans une cartouche mise au point par Kodak. Le chargement et déchargement pouvait donc se faire à la lumière du jour. Le Retina était petit, maniable et muni d'obturateurs et optiques de l'industrie de pointe allemande dans ce domaine. L'évolution de cette série d'appareil s'est arrêtée avec la production du Retina Reflex IV.

La série des "OM" chez Olympus

Le premier OM sorti est en fait le M-1 en 1972 qui attira les foudres de Leitz qui voyait le "M" de son Leica copié. Olympus fut contraint de rebaptiser son appareil et choisi"OM-1" ("O" pour Olympus et "M" pour Masterpiece). Ce premier OM-1 de 1973 a tout pour plaire: léger, compact, nouvelle baïonnette pour l'optique, viseur clair, assez silencieux (frein pneumatique pour le miroir), et motorisable,  moyennant une petite intervention pour le OM-1 uniquement. Il s'en suit une série de beaux boîtiers reflex 35 mm, surtout les modèles "black", mais ce n'est qu'un avis personnel...Olympus a également prévu une vaste série d'optiques et accessoires dont, par exemple, les adaptations pour les microscopes avec lesquels la firme a fait ses début dans la production.   

La série des "Super Ikonta" chez Zeiss Ikon.

A partir de 1934, Zeiss Ikon perfectionne sa série déjà bien développée des foldings Ikonta par des appareils de même type mais munis d'un télémètre couplé afin de faciliter une mise la point précise grâce à une lentille additionnelle de contrôle située sur le même plan que l'optique. Commence alors la série des Super Ikonta. Ce sont des appareils évolués munis des dernières évolutions techniques : un prestigieux couple optique/ obturateur: Carl zeiss Tessar / Deckel Compur; un viseur Newton qui va donner une image redressée; un soufflet fait d'ondulations spéciales pour la ventilation interne qui évite que le film sorte de son plan et une finition de grande qualité technique et esthétique. Le rouleau de film 120 va être utilisé pour donner tous les formats possibles horizontaux ou verticaux: 4,5 X 6 cm, 6 x 6 cm ou 6 x 9 cm. La production des Super Ikonta va se poursuivre de 1934 à 1960.   

La série des "Bessa" chez Voigtländer - Allemagne

De 1929 à 1951, Voigtländer va produire une série d'appareils de type folding (pliants) pour film en rouleau 120. Toutes les optiques sont de la firma Voigtländer : Singlo, Voigtar, Skopar, Vaskar ou Heliar et des obturateurs Embezet, Pronto ou Compur. Au fur et à mesure de la production, les viseurs vont évoluer de même que la luminosité des optiques et des modèle à télémètre. Certains modèles sont munis d'un filtre amovible articulé sur le bord de l'optique. Plus tard, depuis 1996, sous le nom "Voigtlander", Cosina (Japon) continue la construction d'appareil Bessa, comme le Bessa L présenté dans cette série.

 

 

La série des "Pen" chez Olympus - Japon

Les appareils photo qui utilisent le film 135 (film 35 mm) font en général des photographies au format 24 X 36 mm. Cela signifie que la hauteur du film est utilisée pour les 24 mm de haut, et que la longueur du film est partagée en portions de 36 mm de long soit 36 vues maximum sur une cartouche 135 complète. La photo prise avec l'appareil horizontal aura un format rectangulaire en longueur (type "paysage"). Les appareils "Pen" d'Olympus font du demi format : la hauteur reste 24 mm mais la longueur fait 18 mm et non plus 36 mm ce qui permet de faire maximum 72 vues par film au lieu de 36. La photo prise avec l'appareil vertical aura un format rectangulaire en hauteur (type "portrait"). L'inconvénient est que la format de la prise de vue est plus petit et donc la portion de pellicule impressionnée également. De ce fait, lors de l'agrandissement, les grains peuvent apparaître plus rapidement. Olympus a su réaliser une très belle série de petits appareils compacts ("Pen" comme un stylo qu'on met en poche), très maniables, bien équipés au niveau optique et munis d'automatisme d'exposition performants. En fin de production, on retrouve même des appareils reflex demi-format, fleurons de la série, avec des optiques interchangeables et avec des possibilités d'utilisations dans des domaines scientifiques, la médecine principalement (endoscopie, microphotographie...).

La série des "Rolleiflex" chez Franke & Heidecke - Allemagne

S'il fut des appareils qui ont eu un immense succès et souvent imités, c'est bien le "Rolleiflex", reflex à deux objectifs mis au point dès 1929 par les deux compères Franke et Heidecke. L'appareil a une optique supérieure pour la visée et inférieure pour la prise de vue. Le grand viseur-poitrine donne sur le dépoli une image carrée non redressée gauche-droite correspondant au format 6 X 6 cm sur film 120 ou 4 X 4 cm sur film 127. La pellicule se déroule verticalement ce qui donne un appareil de forme cubique tout en hauteur mais peu encombrant pour un moyen format. Les optiques schneider ou Carl Zeiss combinés avec un obturateur Deckel en faisaient un appareil performant, sûr et d'une finition impeccable. Il a fait le bonheur des photographes professionnel comme des amateurs exigeants !  Les "Rolleiflex" de la collection autres que les reflex bi-objectifs ne sont pas insérés dans cette série.

Les "Contaflex" chez Zeiss Ikon

 Nous sommes en 1953 et il est temps pour Zeiss Ikon-Stuttgart, après la guerre 40-45 et la séparation en deux camps est/ouest, de rivaliser avec leurs concurrents d'Allemagne de l'est. La firme Zeiss Ikon-Dresden (Pentacom plus tard) a sorti en 1949 le Contax S et Ihagee-Dresden, l'année suivante, a sorti son Exakta Varex. Ces deux appareils sont des reflex à un objectif (SLR) et utilisent le film 35 mm. A ce moment Zeiss Ikon-Stuttgart continue encore la production de son fleuron d'avant guerre: le Contax, appareil télémétrique 35 mm. Les ingénieurs qui sont resté à l'ouest entreprennent alors la production d'un nouvel appareil reflex (SLR) 35 mm : le Contaflex. Ce sera une série de 16 modèles produits entre 1953 et 1972. Il y aura 3 familles de Contaflex : 1 - les Contaflex à objectif fixe équipés d'optiques Tessar) ; 2 - Les Contaflex équipés d'optiques Plantar ; 3 - Les contaflex équipés d'optiques Pro-Tessar.

Je ne prends pas en compte ici l'excellent  Contaflex (830/24) qui est un TLR sorti en 1935.

 

 

La série " F " professionnel chez Nikon

 

Depuis 1948, Nippon Kogaku (Japon) a produit huit modèles d'appareils 35 mm télémétriques, dont le légendaire " SP " sorti des usines de 1957 jusqu'en 1964. Nippon Kogaku s'attaque ensuite au marché des reflex 35 mm à un objectif interchangeable (SLR - Single Lens Reflex). C'est sur base du boitier du SP que Nippon Kogaku va élaborer le Nikon F, premier d'une série d'appareils destinés spécialement au marché professionnel. Les autres inconditionnels de la marque ne seront pas oubliés par d'autres productions d'appareils reflex Nikon moins onéreux (Nikkormat, FM, F-601 ...).

Le Nikon F sort en 1959, deux ans après la sortie du SP qui est toujours en production. Ce Nikon F va marquer l'histoire de la photographie et va modifier les habitudes des photographes professionnels. Le reflex 35 mm qui existait déjà chez d'autres marques va devenir une référence. C'est donc pour Nippon Kogaku qui deviendra "Nikon" en 1988 un succès dès le premier modèle et les autres vont suivre au fur et à mesure des progrès techniques appliqués à ces appareils : vitesse d'obturation croissante, mesure de la lumière à travers l'objectif (TTL), automatisme d'exposition, Motorisation, autofocus ....etc). Un point constant pour tous les reflex 35 mm Nikon, c'est la baïonnette F qui sert à fixer les optiques, dont la base va rester immuable toujours jusqu'à nos jours. L'avantage est donc la compatibilité presque totale de tous les objectifs de la marque avec les évidentes limitations liées aux perfectionnements des communications mécaniques et électroniques entre l'optique et le boitier (comme, par exemple, la mise au point automatique). La série des Nikon F n'est en fait pas très grande puisqu'on compte que 6 modèles de base, du nikon F au Nikon F6. Mais il y a plusieurs variations de ces modèles qui font que l'ensemble se compte à plus de 20 appareils d'identifications différentes entre 1959 et 2004.

 

 

Nikon F Moteur F36.jpg

Nikon F-36

Nikon F2 Eylevel.jpg

Nikon F Waistlevel

Nikon Nikkorex F.jpg

Nikon Nikkorex F